Nice is…you guessed it…

September 19, 2009 at 2:17 am Leave a comment

Nice started off in a haze of brain exhaustion and ridiculous hours.

So I admit, I could have found a better way to get there, but the way my trip timing worked out, I was on a bus that would get me to Nice at 2am the day before I originally planned to arrive.

That meant:

– No accommodation booked for that night

– I thought I’d hang out at the bus station from 2am til morning

Problems? What problems?

The only other passenger getting off the bus at Nice at 2am was Suzzanne, another Aussie girl.  Upon seeing the dodgy bus station, there was no way I was staying there on my own til morning!  She had a hostel pick-up, but couldn’t reach them on her phone. No payphones in sight.  After wandering around, we finally got a taxi, and used the driver’s phone to call the hostel.  Eventually we got there, and ended up crashing on their common room couches.  The common room also just so happened to be a 24-hr bar!

Drunken backpackers, a flirtatious chef and broken glass = disturbed sleep for us!

At 4am a guy asked us what we were doing there, and after feeling sorry for these homeless sweet girls, gave us a free private double room! (He turned out to be the owner)  Ended up scoring a whole bunch of free stuff off this hostel, which I didn’t even book a room in!

Such was my start in Nice.

Originally I had only planned on spending 3 nights here.  With every daytrip up and down the coast (previous post) I fell more in love with the Riviera.  With every night, I fell more in love with Nice.  Eventually, I even stayed in town during the day and explored Nice itself.

Easily, Nice ended up being my favourite place of all the Riviera towns I visited.

My original 3 night plan turned into a whole week, and I loved it!

Had many funtimes with so many great people. Photos ensue 🙂

Nice Beach & Promenade

I lived an easy stroll through pretty cobbled alleyways to blue seas and fair winds

I lived an easy stroll through pretty cobbled alleyways to blue seas and fair winds

Blessed with bright clear days almost the entire time

Blessed with bright clear days almost the entire time

Blue seems to be a common theme throughout my Riviera photos…lucky me 🙂

Nice beach promenade, with the famous Hotel Negresco (one of the most decadent in the world apparently? I wasn't going to attempt entry in my thongs ^_^)

Nice beach promenade, with the famous Hotel Negresco (one of the most decadent in the world apparently? I wasn't going to attempt entry in my thongs ^_^)

Every night ended up on the beach, and in very different ways! This night was a chilled group ocassion :)

Every night ended up on the beach, and in very different ways! This night was a chilled group ocassion 🙂 Those pebbles are huge and painful!

English boys: "That was Nice, Cannes we do it again?" etc.  The jokes, strangely enough, never got old

English boys: "That was Nice, Cannes we do it again?" etc. The jokes, strangely enough, never got old

The moon, huge and low in the sky. The reflection could mesmerise me for hours.

The moon, huge and low in the sky. The reflection could mesmerise me for hours.

Van cowboy drumming to classic tunes, why the hell not?

Van cowboy drumming to classic tunes, why the hell not?

Latino beats induce swaying hips - just a taste of all the evening beach promenade entertainment

Latino beats induce swaying hips - just a taste of all the evening beach promenade entertainment

Bass brand in white - along the promenade

Bass brand in white - along the promenade

Vieux Nice (Old Town) …mainly by night

…despite the fact that I really did spend some daytimes here too! I did live there after all! I really should have taken more photos of the cobblestone alleyways…

Diana in the main Place (plaza) with the illuminated naked men? Hah

Diana in the main Place (plaza) with the illuminated naked men? Hah

Night pianist, and very impressive too

Night pianist, and very impressive too

Al fresco dining

Al fresco dining

Old town markets

Old town markets

The Italians! These two taught me to drink espresso - I've been drinking it ever since!

The Italians! These two taught me to drink espresso - I've been drinking it ever since! Shot from my table-top position at Wayne's

Table/chair-top dancing at Wayne's with Sylwia!

Table/chair-top dancing at Wayne's with Sylwia!

Old Port side

Nice Vieux Port - rivalled any of the other Riviera towns I'd visited

Nice Vieux Port - rivalled any of the other Riviera towns I'd visited

Blocky surf-breakers and other more practical uses :)

Blocky surf-breakers and other more practical uses 🙂

Virago by the sea - took this photo with Dad in mind!

Virago by the sea - took this photo with Dad in mind!

Ah Nice – how I love you.

Sitting and staring out at these understated colours, as the sky turned dark, made me so very very happy!  *sigh*

Sitting and staring out at these understated colours, as the sky turned dark, made me so very very happy! *sigh*

Also – go to the Musee d’Art Moderne et d’Art Contemporain (MAMAC) *love* !!!

DSC_0671DSC_0652DSC_0579

xox

Ange

(still ridiculously delayed, but we’re catching up!)

Entry filed under: Funtimes, People, The Journey, Views.

Riviera tripping Marseille & Aix en Provence: could have done this better, or not at all

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Entry dates

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Looking back…


