Marseille & Aix en Provence: could have done this better, or not at all

September 29, 2009 at 7:37 pm 1 comment

Oh dear, that doesn’t sound too optimistic does it?

Honestly, it was enjoyable, but I think I could have done it much better with some more foresight.  There were one or two missed opportunities that could have been better taken advantage of!

In Nice, Patrick and Claudio (the Italians who taught me to drink espresso, haha) had almost convinced me to waylay my France plans and simply spend my summer weeks on the Italian coast!  Ohhh I was so tempted, and in hindsight wish I had – regardless, I had a blast in France.

Marseille

Originally, I had no plans to come here.  It was only really a base from which to explore the calanques (gorgeous sea inlets) and Aix en Provence.

Old Port by night - so many boats!

Old Port by night - so many boats!

Turned out to be quite an interesting place in itself!  Similar in architecture, and it had a sprawling old port with hundreds of boats, though definitely not as glistening as the Riviera ports.  The whole place had an air of organic mess. Does that sound bad?  There was much more Arabic than French spoken. In fact, had a great Moroccan meal and good Irish pub banter (one of the only ‘happening’ places we came across).  The hostel owner was totally odd but entertaining, and Aaron the frat boy American played tour guide.

Old cathedral near the Port

Old cathedral near the Port

Chateau D'If - where the Count of Monte Cristo was imprisoned (well, in Dumas' world)

Chateau D'If - where the Count of Monte Cristo was imprisoned (well, in Dumas' world)

Giraffe made from books, on the walk back to the hostel

Giraffe made from books, on the walk back to the hostel

Morning markets and fresh fish

Morning markets and fresh fish

The gorgeous white stone and blue waters of the calanques

The gorgeous white stone and blue waters of the calanques

Aix en Provence

Coined as a beautiful town full of old stately mansion decadence, cafe culture, colourful markets and Cezanne, Aix en Provence was a huge drawcard.  Made the daytrip with the gorgeous young French Canadians Marie-lou and Stephanie.

Soap stone demo at the market stalls

Soap stone demo at the market stalls

Lavender products - the typical Provencal flower & fragrance

Lavender products - the typical Provencal flower & fragrance

We had actually really wanted to get out to lavender and flower fields – the idyllic swaying scenery that Provence is famous for. Unfortunately, the lavender harvest was already over, and local buses just did not work out for us!  My one regret for Provence – but oh well!  Had a great day at the market stalls and learning about the influence Picasso and Cezanne had on eachothers’ work.

Calissons, yum! Bought the lavendar flavoured ones (if I couldn't see the fields, I was going to eat them dammit!)

Calissons, yum! Bought the lavendar flavoured ones (if I couldn't see the fields, I was going to eat them dammit!)

The girls browsing amongst the colours & smells of soaps good enough to eat

The girls browsing amongst the colours & smells of soaps good enough to eat

My nod to art in Provence. Picasso isn't totally my thing, but I do love Cezanne!

My nod to art in Provence. Picasso isn't totally my thing, but I do love Cezanne!

A far cry from Picasso or Cezanne, but I can't help it - colour coordination and good merchandising makes me happy (at Sephora - why don't we have this chain in Australia?)

A far cry from Picasso or Cezanne, but I can't help it - colour coordination and good merchandising makes me happy (at Sephora - why don't we have this chain in Australia?)

As much as I enjoyed this pretty place, the Loire Valley (next post) was in my opinion much more gorgeous!

Enjoyable? Of course, all my travel is!  I wouldn’t call them essential stops though.  It was time better spent as extra days in the Riviera, Loire Valley or Paris I reckon.

Still hugely behind, but more posts on their way!

xox

Ange

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Nice is…you guessed it… Two princesses and their fairytale in the Loire Valley

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Luce  |  October 1, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    thanks ange 🙂 made procrastinating much more enjoyable
    xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Entry dates

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Looking back…


