Two princesses and their fairytale in the Loire Valley

October 2, 2009 at 10:57 pm 2 comments

I rocked up to the huge youth hostel in Tours, which was cold and institutional. On a major plus side, I had paid for a dorm room but got a twin room all to myself. Sweet deal – privacy! Skype chats! Being as messy and loud as I wanted! Ahh thank you giant hostel 🙂

Already on the cab ride there, I could see how gorgeous the town was – even more so than Aix en Provence! The fountains, the old mansions on either side of wide boulevardes lined with towering old trees, the quaint old town with huge squares filled with al fresco seating and the smell of crepes…sigh!

Towering trees, gorgeous old mansions, early morning walks, le sigh!

Towering trees, gorgeous old mansions, early morning walks, le sigh!

Melted goats cheese - makes any salad spectacular!

Melted goats cheese - makes any salad spectacular! (Photo from Jo)

Girl date with Jo - Moules et frites & cider!

Girl date with Jo - Moules et frites & cider! (Photo from Jo)

Originally I had planned to bike around the Loire and see whichever chateaux I wanted – but seeing as I hadn’t ridden a bike in 10 years or so, I opted for the bus that would take me to a select few of the more famous or more grand chateaux.  There are over 30 chateaux in the region, I’d go crazy trying to choose otherwise!

Glad I did, because I found myself sitting next to the gorgeous and delightful Jo, with whom I spent my entire time in the Loire, and then subsequently Paris!  I was dumb enough to accidentally delete almost all my photos from the Loire (sad face!) so many of the photos below are courtesy of Jo – thanks love!

I’m no expert on French aristocracy or art or architecture, so I won’t pose as one.  To follow are simply images that I feel capture our fairytale 2 days amongst turrets, spiral staircases, decadent furnishings, rich fabrics, blue skies, green grass, flowers upon flowers and hedge mazes 🙂

Chapel at Chateaux Amboise, where Da Vinci is buried

Chapel at Chateaux Amboise, where Da Vinci is buried. Photo from Jo

Mind blowing to be standing there - to think of all the things he's contributed to art, science, architecture...and here he is, and there we were! Photo from Jo

Mind blowing to be standing there - to think of all the things he's contributed to art, science, architecture...and here he is, and there we were! Photo from Jo

Jo at Chateaux Amboise - everything here made me feel like I was in the movie Ever After! Photo from Jo

Jo at Chateaux Amboise - everything here made me feel like I was in the movie Ever After! Photo from Jo

Plush decadence, rich colours and huge fireplaces

Plush decadence, rich colours and huge fireplaces

Jo - happy to be lost in our fairytale hedge maze (though admittedly, not a very challenging...or tall...one, haha)

Jo - happy to be lost in our fairytale hedge maze (though admittedly, not a very challenging...or tall...one, haha)

Gorgeous country farmhouse garden attached to a chateaux

Gorgeous country farmhouse garden attached to a chateaux

Chateaux kitchen - all shiny copper, and reminding me once again of Ever After, or scenes of maids in bonnets and portly cooks chopping heads of chickens for grand feasts from like every movie ever set in that time and place

Chateaux kitchen - all shiny copper, and reminding me once again of Ever After, or scenes of maids in bonnets and portly cooks chopping heads of chickens for grand feasts from like every movie ever set in that time and place

Underground servant dining and deliciously rustic herbs, by the kitchen

Underground servant dining and deliciously rustic herbs, by the kitchen

Bring me a shrubbery! Gardens at Amboise. Photo by Jo

Bring me a shrubbery! Gardens at Amboise. Photo by Jo

...and always twirlgin! Internal tower/dual helix staircase, designed by Da Vinci. Photo by Jo

...and always twirling! Internal tower/dual helix staircase, designed by Da Vinci. Photo by Jo

I should really remember the names of the chateaux - I think it's Cheverney. I could be wrong.  Photo by Jo

I should really remember the names of the chateaux - I think it's Cheverney. I could be wrong. Photo by Jo

The inspiration for Marglespike Hall! Go Tin Tin! Photo by Jo

The inspiration for Marglespike Hall! Go Tin Tin! Photo by Jo

Sigh! How I love natural framing! Photo by Jo

Sigh! How I love natural framing! Photo by Jo

Macaroons - a very important part of our Loire experience. YUM. Photo by Jo

Macaroons - a very important part of our Loire experience. YUM. Photo by Jo

It wasn’t only the chateaux that kept us absorbed in our fairytale, but also the amazing gardens!  Mum & dad, these go out to you :p

Villandry!  Stunning and huge - like a fabulous game board even? Yes, I'm a giant nerd. Photo by Jo

Villandry! Stunning and huge - like a fabulous game board even? Yes, I'm a giant nerd. Photo by Jo

Villandry! This part comprised symbols for varying stages of love and passion. Photo by Jo

Villandry! This part comprised symbols for varying stages of love and passion. Photo by Jo

Me amongst the lavender at Villandry. Photo by Jo

Spot the Angela! Me amongst the lavender at Villandry. Photo by Jo

Villandry - Still loving lavender, and loving Jo for getting this shot :D  Photo by Jo

Villandry - Still loving lavender, and loving Jo for getting this shot 😀 Photo by Jo

Which chateaux was this? Really should recall...but the artist rendition is gorgeous.  Photo by Jo

Which chateaux was this? Really should recall...but the artist rendition is gorgeous. Photo by Jo

Ahhh so much gorgeousness.  All we needed were the dresses and corsets (and big hair) and we would’ve been set.  That, and to get rid of all the other tourists, hah.

Loving you Jo, glad we had the fairytale together!

Next post – Paris!  Jo + the Aussie gang, picnicing, climbing endless stairs and art coming out of our ears!

xox

Ange

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Marseille & Aix en Provence: could have done this better, or not at all Training up Provence

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Luce  |  October 3, 2009 at 1:15 am

    beautiful ange, so jealous right now
    xx

    Reply
  • 2. phil  |  October 13, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    AMAZING!! that is crazy!! i missed out!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Entry dates

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Looking back…


